About Us

The Sportsfield

The Cherry Burton Sportsfield is situated off “The Meadows”, Cherry Burton, East Yorkshire, HU17 7SD. It has a large open space with tennis courts, football pitches and a cricket square and has a large wooden pavilion building nearby. A tarmac driveway leads to car parking facilities located on the west side. The Pavilion was built around 1984 by S. Wernick and Sons Ltd with a design life of about 20 years and is timber framed with brickwork cladding to either gable, and vertical timber boarding to both North & South elevations. It is owned by the Parish Council and the Guides and the Baden Powell organisation. Internal layout consists of an entrance lobby/corridor, three changing rooms, an equipment room, lounge, kitchen, cleaners store and an adjacent Baden Powell (Scouts/Guides etc.) room. There are integral WC areas in each changing room and in the Lounge. The rules and regulations for using the sportsfield can be found here.

 

Committee

The Cherry Burton Sportsfield Management Committee is a Committee of the Parish Council which leases the Sportsfield from the East Riding of Yorkshire Council. The Parish Council and the Baden Powell groups own the Pavilion building and have responsibility for keeping accounts and obtaining buildings, contents and public liability insurance. In order to manage the field most effectively, the Parish Council delegates to the Committee the powers described in this Constitution. The Management Committee is governed by Parish Council Standing Orders. The Sportsfield has a Constitution and the committee meets bi-monthly with minutes recorded. The Constitution is available here and the latest minutes here.

2017 Committee Members

Andy Addison Tennis representative

Andrew-addison1@hotmail.co.uk

Paul Arandle    PC representative arandle_p@hotmail.com

Kay Gamble Rounders representative  kay27668@aol.com

Tony Jenkins Football representative  tonyjenkins211@gmail.com

Ian Kelly Scouts representative Kelly55@Kelly55.karoo.co.uk

Marc Lough  Football representative marc.lough@cityfibre.com

Judi Peirson Guides representative judi.peirson@gmail.com

George Primarolo Cricket representative George.Primarolo@harrowells.co.uk

Peter Wardale  PC representative  pete@pjw.karoo.co.uk

Tony Baker     PC representative  Tony53334@aol.com

Phil Whitfield Football representative philwhitfield28@hotmail.co.uk